

Online Scam · 23 Oct 2026Fake E-Challan Messages: How to Spot the Scam and Check a Real Challan
Food · 22 Oct 2026Warning Labels on Packaged Food: What the Supreme Court Case Means for You
Food · 21 Oct 2026Microplastics Warning on Bottled Water, Sugar and Salt: What the Madras High Court Order Means for You
Technology · 20 Oct 2026Caller Name Display From 1 November 2026: What You Will See and What It Means
Technology · 19 Oct 2026Power Bank Banned on Flights in India: How to Check Yours Before You Fly
Financial education · 18 Oct 2026Bank Deposits in One Statement: What RBI’s Account Aggregator Plan Means for You
Online Scam · 18 Oct 2026Fake Customer Care Number Scam: How to Find the Real Helpline Before You Call
Technology · 18 Oct 2026Spam Calls and Messages: What India’s Proposed Rules Mean for WhatsApp, AI Voices and Your Consent
Financial education · 17 Oct 2026Insurance Websites and Dark Patterns: What IRDAI Proposes to Change
Financial education · 17 Oct 2026ATM Debited Money but No Cash? Refund Deadline, ₹100 a Day Compensation and What to Do
Energy · 17 Oct 2026Electricity Bill Too High? What the Proposed Consumer Rules Say About Billing and New Connections
Prestigious Metals · 16 Oct 2026Digital Gold on Apps: What to Know Before You Buy This Dhanteras
Financial education · 16 Oct 2026EPF Wage Ceiling Raised to ₹25,000: What It Means for Your Salary, PF and Pension
Lifestyle · 16 Oct 2026Train Ticket Insurance for Counter Tickets From 27 October 2026: What Rail Passengers Should Know
Online Scam · 15 Oct 2026Mule Account Scams: Why Renting Out Your Bank Account Can Land You in Trouble
Financial education · 15 Oct 2026RBI Fraud Compensation From 1 January 2027: How You Can Get Up to ₹25,000 Back
Online Scam · 15 Oct 2026Fake Loan Apps: How to Check if a Loan App Is Genuine Before You Borrow
Technology · 14 Oct 2026ISI Mark Now a Must for 90 Types of Home Appliances: What Changes From 1 October 2026
Technology · 14 Oct 2026DPDP Consent Managers From 13 November 2026: What India’s Data Protection Rules Mean for You
AI education & safety · 14 Oct 2026AI Labels on Social Media: How India’s Deepfake Rules Work and How to Spot Fakes
Online Scam · 13 Oct 2026Fake India Post Parcel Messages: How the Address Update Scam Works and How to Stay Safe
Financial education · 13 Oct 2026New NPS Charges From 1 October 2026: What the ₹200 Fee and 0.20% Yearly Charge Mean for You
Lifestyle · 13 Oct 2026FASTag Toll Payment Rules 2026: No Cash, UPI at Extra Cost and E-Notices for Missed Tolls
Financial education · 12 Oct 2026SBI ATM Charges From 1 October 2026: Free Limit Cut for Salary and Basic Savings Accounts
Food · 12 Oct 2026Misleading Food Labels: What FSSAI’s Action on “100% Natural” Claims Means for YouThe Canon EOS R6 Mark III and the Sony Alpha 7 V are full-frame mirrorless cameras for people who shoot photos and video in the same week: wedding and event shooters, wildlife photographers, and creators who have outgrown a smaller body. Both have a sensor of about 33 MP, two card slots, a full-size HDMI port, 4K at 120p and a two-year warranty, so none of that will decide the purchase. Body prices are also close. The real choice is between Canon’s cinema-style video and faster bursts, and Sony’s more flexible screen, stated battery life and E-mount lenses.
This is the biggest gap. The Canon records 7K RAW internally at up to 60p, and 7K open-gate video that lets one clip be reframed for both horizontal and vertical edits. It also offers Canon Log 2 and Log 3. The Sony tops out at 4K, but at 4K it still gives 10-bit 4:2:2 recording, S-Log3 and 4K at 120p for slow motion. In everyday terms, the Sony covers weddings, interviews, YouTube and most client work. The Canon matters when footage will be graded properly and shot for cinema-style delivery, because RAW leaves far more room to change colour and exposure afterwards.
That headroom has a cost. The ConsumerArena review notes that 7K RAW needs expensive CFexpress Type B cards and fills drives quickly. If you will not grade RAW, you will probably never notice the difference. Long takes are the other point: Sony states about 90 minutes of continuous 4K 60p recording, while the Canon sheet gives no continuous recording time, so its limit for long takes is not known from the data.
For action, the Canon is faster on paper: 40 fps with the electronic shutter against 30 fps on the Sony, and 12 fps against 10 fps with the mechanical shutter. Both electronic bursts run without blackout, and both can save frames from before the shutter is fully pressed (up to 20 frames on the Canon, up to one second on the Sony). A bird taking off or a ball leaving the bat gives the Canon a few extra frames to choose from. For weddings, portraits and travel, 30 fps is already more than most people need, so this is close to a tie. The Sony’s specification also lists anti-flicker shooting, which the Canon’s does not state, a small point for indoor halls lit by LED and tube lights.
Both score 4.8 out of 5 for autofocus in the reviews, so neither is likely to let you down. The difference is emphasis. The Canon can store up to 100 registered faces and prefer them in a crowd, which suits a wedding photographer who needs the couple sharp among hundreds of guests. The Sony recognises a wider list of subjects: people, animals, birds, insects, cars, trains and aeroplanes, and it estimates human pose to keep tracking a person whose face is turned away. Canon’s list covers people, animals and vehicles. Faces in a crowd lean to the Canon; mixed wildlife and transport lean to the Sony.
Weight will not separate them: 695 g for the Sony and 699 g for the Canon with battery and card. The Sony’s 3.2-inch screen is sharper (about 2.1 million dots against 1.62 million) and its four-axis hinge tilts and swings out, which helps vloggers and low-angle work. The Canon’s screen movement is not stated in the data. The viewfinders are effectively equal, both about 3.7 million dots with a 120 fps mode.
Weather protection is where the Canon pulls ahead on paper. It is listed as dust- and drip-resistant, with a mechanical shutter rated for about 500,000 cycles. The Sony has a magnesium alloy body and a six-screw lens mount, but its listing does not state any weather sealing, so shooters in monsoon or dusty conditions should weigh that.
The Canon pairs one CFexpress Type B slot with one SD slot, and its top video modes depend on the dearer card. The Sony takes SD in both slots, with the first slot also accepting CFexpress Type A, so it can work entirely on ordinary SD cards, which can lower running costs. On power, the Sony is rated for about 630 shots through the viewfinder and about 750 on the screen (a CIPA claim), charges in the camera over USB-C and can run from a power bank. Its box list shows no separate charger. The Canon includes a charger and has a 2,130 mAh battery, but the data gives no shots-per-charge figure, and the review advises heavy video users to carry spares.
The mounts are different, Sony E-mount and Canon RF, so lenses do not move between them. If you already own lenses for one system, that usually settles the question, because changing system means buying lenses again. The site data does not compare the two lens ranges, so no claim is made about which is better stocked. Both brands give a two-year warranty, and the Sony adds an extra year on registration. Neither listing states a software or security update commitment. The Canon is sold with two lens kits, a light f/4-7.1 and a heavier f/4L that brings the total to about 1.4 kg, while the Sony has one kit lens.
Choose the Canon EOS R6 Mark III if video is a serious part of your work and you want RAW and open-gate recording, if you shoot fast action where 40 fps and 12 fps mechanical bursts help, if you want stated dust and drip resistance, or if you already own Canon RF lenses.
Choose the Sony Alpha 7 V if you want flexible 10-bit 4K video without the cost of CFexpress cards, a sharper and more flexible screen, a stated battery rating with USB-C charging and power, a wider list of recognised subjects, or if you already own E-mount lenses.
On price, the body-only Canon costs slightly less than the Sony, so you are choosing features rather than paying a premium for either side. With a lens, the Sony kit costs a little less than the Canon STM kit, and the Canon f/4L kit costs considerably more. The reviews score value almost level, 4.1 out of 5 for the Canon and 4.0 for the Sony. For a hybrid shooter who will use RAW or needs weather protection, the Canon is the better value. For a stills-first shooter who also records ordinary 4K, the Sony is the easier, cheaper-to-run choice. If you will not use 7K RAW or 40 fps, the differences are small enough to ignore and your existing lenses should decide. Prices change with shop, variant and offer, so check the product pages before you buy.
Read the full Canon EOS R6 Mark III review and specifications, the Sony Alpha 7 V review and specifications, or see every specification side by side on the live comparison page.
The newest reviews in this category.
Sony Alpha 7R VI★ 4.6 / 5
Nikon Z50★ 4.1 / 5
Canon EOS R7★ 4.4 / 5
Insta360 Ace Pro 2★ 4.3 / 5
DJI Osmo 360 II★ 4.3 / 5
DJI Osmo Action 4★ 4.4 / 5
GoPro HERO12 Black★ 4.3 / 5
Nikon Z5★ 4.2 / 5Was this comparison helpful?