Latest
Fake E-Challan Messages: How to Spot the Scam and Check a Real ChallanOnline Scam · 23 Oct 2026Fake E-Challan Messages: How to Spot the Scam and Check a Real ChallanWarning Labels on Packaged Food: What the Supreme Court Case Means for YouFood · 22 Oct 2026Warning Labels on Packaged Food: What the Supreme Court Case Means for YouMicroplastics Warning on Bottled Water, Sugar and Salt: What the Madras High Court Order Means for YouFood · 21 Oct 2026Microplastics Warning on Bottled Water, Sugar and Salt: What the Madras High Court Order Means for YouCaller Name Display From 1 November 2026: What You Will See and What It MeansTechnology · 20 Oct 2026Caller Name Display From 1 November 2026: What You Will See and What It MeansPower Bank Banned on Flights in India: How to Check Yours Before You FlyTechnology · 19 Oct 2026Power Bank Banned on Flights in India: How to Check Yours Before You FlyBank Deposits in One Statement: What RBI’s Account Aggregator Plan Means for YouFinancial education · 18 Oct 2026Bank Deposits in One Statement: What RBI’s Account Aggregator Plan Means for YouFake Customer Care Number Scam: How to Find the Real Helpline Before You CallOnline Scam · 18 Oct 2026Fake Customer Care Number Scam: How to Find the Real Helpline Before You CallSpam Calls and Messages: What India's Proposed Rules Mean for WhatsApp, AI Voices and Your ConsentTechnology · 18 Oct 2026Spam Calls and Messages: What India’s Proposed Rules Mean for WhatsApp, AI Voices and Your ConsentInsurance Websites and Dark Patterns: What IRDAI Proposes to ChangeFinancial education · 17 Oct 2026Insurance Websites and Dark Patterns: What IRDAI Proposes to ChangeATM Debited Money but No Cash? Refund Deadline, ₹100 a Day Compensation and What to DoFinancial education · 17 Oct 2026ATM Debited Money but No Cash? Refund Deadline, ₹100 a Day Compensation and What to DoElectricity Bill Too High? What the Proposed Consumer Rules Say About Billing and New ConnectionsEnergy · 17 Oct 2026Electricity Bill Too High? What the Proposed Consumer Rules Say About Billing and New ConnectionsDigital Gold on Apps: What to Know Before You Buy This DhanterasPrestigious Metals · 16 Oct 2026Digital Gold on Apps: What to Know Before You Buy This DhanterasEPF Wage Ceiling Raised to ₹25,000: What It Means for Your Salary, PF and PensionFinancial education · 16 Oct 2026EPF Wage Ceiling Raised to ₹25,000: What It Means for Your Salary, PF and PensionTrain Ticket Insurance for Counter Tickets From 27 October 2026: What Rail Passengers Should KnowLifestyle · 16 Oct 2026Train Ticket Insurance for Counter Tickets From 27 October 2026: What Rail Passengers Should KnowMule Account Scams: Why Renting Out Your Bank Account Can Land You in TroubleOnline Scam · 15 Oct 2026Mule Account Scams: Why Renting Out Your Bank Account Can Land You in TroubleRBI Fraud Compensation From 1 January 2027: How You Can Get Up to ₹25,000 BackFinancial education · 15 Oct 2026RBI Fraud Compensation From 1 January 2027: How You Can Get Up to ₹25,000 BackFake Loan Apps: How to Check if a Loan App Is Genuine Before You BorrowOnline Scam · 15 Oct 2026Fake Loan Apps: How to Check if a Loan App Is Genuine Before You BorrowISI Mark Now a Must for 90 Types of Home Appliances: What Changes From 1 October 2026Technology · 14 Oct 2026ISI Mark Now a Must for 90 Types of Home Appliances: What Changes From 1 October 2026DPDP Consent Managers From 13 November 2026: What India’s Data Protection Rules Mean for YouTechnology · 14 Oct 2026DPDP Consent Managers From 13 November 2026: What India’s Data Protection Rules Mean for YouAI Labels on Social Media: How India’s Deepfake Rules Work and How to Spot FakesAI education & safety · 14 Oct 2026AI Labels on Social Media: How India’s Deepfake Rules Work and How to Spot FakesFake India Post Parcel Messages: How the Address Update Scam Works and How to Stay SafeOnline Scam · 13 Oct 2026Fake India Post Parcel Messages: How the Address Update Scam Works and How to Stay SafeNew NPS Charges From 1 October 2026: What the ₹200 Fee and 0.20% Yearly Charge Mean for YouFinancial education · 13 Oct 2026New NPS Charges From 1 October 2026: What the ₹200 Fee and 0.20% Yearly Charge Mean for YouFASTag Toll Payment Rules 2026: No Cash, UPI at Extra Cost and E-Notices for Missed TollsLifestyle · 13 Oct 2026FASTag Toll Payment Rules 2026: No Cash, UPI at Extra Cost and E-Notices for Missed TollsSBI ATM Charges From 1 October 2026: Free Limit Cut for Salary and Basic Savings AccountsFinancial education · 12 Oct 2026SBI ATM Charges From 1 October 2026: Free Limit Cut for Salary and Basic Savings AccountsMisleading Food Labels: What FSSAI’s Action on “100% Natural” Claims Means for YouFood · 12 Oct 2026Misleading Food Labels: What FSSAI’s Action on “100% Natural” Claims Means for You
All news
Canon EOS R6 Mark III vs Sony Alpha 7 V

The Canon EOS R6 Mark III and the Sony Alpha 7 V are full-frame mirrorless cameras for people who shoot photos and video in the same week: wedding and event shooters, wildlife photographers, and creators who have outgrown a smaller body. Both have a sensor of about 33 MP, two card slots, a full-size HDMI port, 4K at 120p and a two-year warranty, so none of that will decide the purchase. Body prices are also close. The real choice is between Canon’s cinema-style video and faster bursts, and Sony’s more flexible screen, stated battery life and E-mount lenses.

Will you use the extra video headroom?

This is the biggest gap. The Canon records 7K RAW internally at up to 60p, and 7K open-gate video that lets one clip be reframed for both horizontal and vertical edits. It also offers Canon Log 2 and Log 3. The Sony tops out at 4K, but at 4K it still gives 10-bit 4:2:2 recording, S-Log3 and 4K at 120p for slow motion. In everyday terms, the Sony covers weddings, interviews, YouTube and most client work. The Canon matters when footage will be graded properly and shot for cinema-style delivery, because RAW leaves far more room to change colour and exposure afterwards.

That headroom has a cost. The ConsumerArena review notes that 7K RAW needs expensive CFexpress Type B cards and fills drives quickly. If you will not grade RAW, you will probably never notice the difference. Long takes are the other point: Sony states about 90 minutes of continuous 4K 60p recording, while the Canon sheet gives no continuous recording time, so its limit for long takes is not known from the data.

Does 40 fps beat 30 fps?

For action, the Canon is faster on paper: 40 fps with the electronic shutter against 30 fps on the Sony, and 12 fps against 10 fps with the mechanical shutter. Both electronic bursts run without blackout, and both can save frames from before the shutter is fully pressed (up to 20 frames on the Canon, up to one second on the Sony). A bird taking off or a ball leaving the bat gives the Canon a few extra frames to choose from. For weddings, portraits and travel, 30 fps is already more than most people need, so this is close to a tie. The Sony’s specification also lists anti-flicker shooting, which the Canon’s does not state, a small point for indoor halls lit by LED and tube lights.

Which autofocus suits the way you shoot?

Both score 4.8 out of 5 for autofocus in the reviews, so neither is likely to let you down. The difference is emphasis. The Canon can store up to 100 registered faces and prefer them in a crowd, which suits a wedding photographer who needs the couple sharp among hundreds of guests. The Sony recognises a wider list of subjects: people, animals, birds, insects, cars, trains and aeroplanes, and it estimates human pose to keep tracking a person whose face is turned away. Canon’s list covers people, animals and vehicles. Faces in a crowd lean to the Canon; mixed wildlife and transport lean to the Sony.

Screen, weather and everyday handling

Weight will not separate them: 695 g for the Sony and 699 g for the Canon with battery and card. The Sony’s 3.2-inch screen is sharper (about 2.1 million dots against 1.62 million) and its four-axis hinge tilts and swings out, which helps vloggers and low-angle work. The Canon’s screen movement is not stated in the data. The viewfinders are effectively equal, both about 3.7 million dots with a 120 fps mode.

Weather protection is where the Canon pulls ahead on paper. It is listed as dust- and drip-resistant, with a mechanical shutter rated for about 500,000 cycles. The Sony has a magnesium alloy body and a six-screw lens mount, but its listing does not state any weather sealing, so shooters in monsoon or dusty conditions should weigh that.

Cards, batteries and running costs

The Canon pairs one CFexpress Type B slot with one SD slot, and its top video modes depend on the dearer card. The Sony takes SD in both slots, with the first slot also accepting CFexpress Type A, so it can work entirely on ordinary SD cards, which can lower running costs. On power, the Sony is rated for about 630 shots through the viewfinder and about 750 on the screen (a CIPA claim), charges in the camera over USB-C and can run from a power bank. Its box list shows no separate charger. The Canon includes a charger and has a 2,130 mAh battery, but the data gives no shots-per-charge figure, and the review advises heavy video users to carry spares.

Does your lens collection decide this?

The mounts are different, Sony E-mount and Canon RF, so lenses do not move between them. If you already own lenses for one system, that usually settles the question, because changing system means buying lenses again. The site data does not compare the two lens ranges, so no claim is made about which is better stocked. Both brands give a two-year warranty, and the Sony adds an extra year on registration. Neither listing states a software or security update commitment. The Canon is sold with two lens kits, a light f/4-7.1 and a heavier f/4L that brings the total to about 1.4 kg, while the Sony has one kit lens.

Which one should you buy?

Choose the Canon EOS R6 Mark III if video is a serious part of your work and you want RAW and open-gate recording, if you shoot fast action where 40 fps and 12 fps mechanical bursts help, if you want stated dust and drip resistance, or if you already own Canon RF lenses.

Choose the Sony Alpha 7 V if you want flexible 10-bit 4K video without the cost of CFexpress cards, a sharper and more flexible screen, a stated battery rating with USB-C charging and power, a wider list of recognised subjects, or if you already own E-mount lenses.

On price, the body-only Canon costs slightly less than the Sony, so you are choosing features rather than paying a premium for either side. With a lens, the Sony kit costs a little less than the Canon STM kit, and the Canon f/4L kit costs considerably more. The reviews score value almost level, 4.1 out of 5 for the Canon and 4.0 for the Sony. For a hybrid shooter who will use RAW or needs weather protection, the Canon is the better value. For a stills-first shooter who also records ordinary 4K, the Sony is the easier, cheaper-to-run choice. If you will not use 7K RAW or 40 fps, the differences are small enough to ignore and your existing lenses should decide. Prices change with shop, variant and offer, so check the product pages before you buy.

Read the full Canon EOS R6 Mark III review and specifications, the Sony Alpha 7 V review and specifications, or see every specification side by side on the live comparison page.